a conversation with...

  The Mobel Sport - Cycle Sierra Nevada Scholarship was developed as a way to sponsor young cyclists that may not have opportunity or financial capacity to avail of a cycling training camp. In this section we take 5 minutes for a chat with one of the applicants selected for the 2018 program.

Mitchell den Duijn - Alphen aan den Rijn - the Netherlands

Who are you?

I am Mitchell den Duijn. I'm 17 years old and I am from Alphen aan den Rijn, the Netherlands.

What team do you ride for?

I ride for UWTC De Volharding (Wilton Cyclingteam).

Why did you start cycling?

I started cycling when I was 9 years old. I started because my parents always watched the Tour de France on television and I really liked that, so I asked my parents if it was okay if I started cycling. Furthermore, my uncle cycled when he was younger and I always liked to listen to his stories about cycling.

Have you any sporting backgrounds apart from cycling?

I played football when I was younger.

What type of cyclist are you? Do you compete in other disciplines, other than road cycling?

I prefer cycling on the road, especially the classics. I also train on the track in the winter and participate in a couple of track races for fun.

Favourite piece of cycling equipment/kit?

I really like to use Shimano for my bikes

Your greatest achievements on a bicycle?

In 2016, I was 15th at the Dutch Championships and 5th in a Dutch Classic. In 2017 my best UCI 1.1 results where 28th at the Ronde van Gelderland and 59th Omloop der Vlaamse Gewesten. I was also 8th at the District Championships. I hope that I can keep developing for even better results.

Your favourite professional cyclist? (past and present)

Niki Terpstra and Fabian Cancellara

Most memorable moment/stage win from professional cycling?

My first UCI 1.1 classic, this was a special moment for me.

Your favourite stage race and one day race? Why?

Guido Reybrouck classic, I like this one day race because there are a lot of cobbles in it.

What's your current favourite music album/song?

I don't have a favourite. Most of the time I listen to Dutch/English rap and the Top-40.

Tell us something we don’t know about you already and you don’t mind the general public knowing?

In my spare time I like to watch Netflix and play video-games.

Hopes and plans for the future?

I hope to have a great season in my 2nd year as junior and then make the step to a good U23 team.