a conversation with patrick haller

  The Cycle Sierra Nevada Scholarship Program was developed as a way to assist young cyclists that may not have opportunity or financial capacity to avail of a cycling training camp. In this section we take 5 minutes for a quick chat with one of the applicants selected for the 2016 program.

Patrick HalleR - GERMANY

Who are you?

My name is Patrick Haller, I am 18 years old and I live in Bavaria, Germany.

What team do you ride for?

The last two years I rode for the biggest U19 Team in Germany which is "Team Auto Eder Bayern" managed by Ralph Denk. In 2016, I will ride for a continental team, but its not official yet!

Why did you start cycling?

My dad was once a professional cyclist. So when I was a little boy he bought me my first bicycle and ever since I love to ride my bicycle.

Have you any other sporting backgrounds?

Yes, I played handball for four years, but cycling has always remained my favorite sport. 

What types of cycling do you do and what do you enjoy about each?

I really enjoy to ride my bicycle through the nature and to have some sporting activity. I especially like to ride through big mountains like the Alps and the Dolomites etc.

How many bikes do you own?

My Mother thinks we own far too many bicycles. Our cellar is completely full of bikes.

Favourite piece of cycling equipment/kit?:

I think the wheels are very important, to ride with carbon wheels is always nice.

Your greatest achievements on a bicycle?

This year I won the Genaral Classification of the Nations Cup, Trofeo Karlsberg, it is the only Nations Cup race in Germany and so it was a very special win for me.

Your cycling heroes?

Vincenzo Nibali and Marcel Kittel.

Your favourite training route/coffee stop?

I don't have a favorite route, but I like it to find new routes. My favourite coffee stop is in Bunyola on the island of Mallorca.

What music do you like?

I don't have a favourite type of music. I listen to anything.

Tell us something we don’t know about you?

I am currently a trainee banker.

Hopes and plans for the future?

My greatest goal is to become a professional cyclist at the very highest level of cycling.