a conversation with...

  The Mobel Sport - Cycle Sierra Nevada Scholarship Program was developed as a way to sponsor young cyclists that may not have opportunity or financial capacity to avail of a cycling training camp. In this section we take 5 minutes for a quick chat with one of the applicants selected for the 2017 program.


maxime gressier - dunkirk - france

Who are you?

I am Maxime Gressier, I'm 18 and I live in the north of France at Dunkirk.

Je suis maxime gressier , j'ai 18 ans et j'habite dans le nord de la france à dunkerque.

What team do you ride for?

I am currently riding for Wcup Avia Cycling Team in Belgium and next year I'll be in UCI Continental Sunweb-Giant Development.

Je roule pour Avia Wcup Cycling Team en belgique pour 2016 et l'année prochaine je vais être en continental uci au sein de la formation Sunweb-Giant Development

Why did you start cycling?

For my family and we have a passion for the cycling culture, and by going to the races that made me want to go cycling.

Car ma famille à la culture cycliste, en allant voir les courses cela m'a donné envie de faire du cyclisme.

Have you any other sporting backgrounds?

Yes, I winter practice jogging, swimming and weight training.

Oui , l'hiver je pratique la course à pied, la natation et la musculation.

What type of cyclist are you? Do you compete in other disciplines, other than road cycling?

I'm pretty much a puncheur-rouleur. When I raced on the track I was pretty specialist endurance races (points race, madison, scratch.

Je suis plutôt puncheur-rouleur . J'ai fais de la piste j'étais plutôt specialiste des courses d'endurance ( points race, madison,scratch)

Favourite piece of cycling equipment / kit ?

The good wheels!

Les roues!

Your greatest achievements on a bicycle?

I have finished 2 times 4th in stages and 4th overall in Liege La Gleize UCI ranked race and the 10th in the UCI Chrono des Nations.

Ette année terminer 2 fois 4 eme d'étapes et 4 eme du général à Liege La Gleize UCI et 10eme au CHRONO DES NATIONS UCI.

Your favorite professional cyclist (past and present)?

My favorite professional cyclist of the past is and it will remain Franck Vandenbrouck (VDB FOREVER) had a lot of class, the numbers on Liège Bastogne Liège, and the stage win into Avila in the Vuelta was magic. A current rider would be someone like Fabian Cancellara! it makes me dream against the clock and the Belgian classics.

Mon cycliste professionnel préféré d'avant c'est et ça restera Franck Vandenbrouck ( VDB FOREVER) il avait une grande classe, les numéros sur liège bastogne liège, "AVILA" c'est magique. Et actuellement un coureur comme fabian cancellara ! il me fait rêver en contre la montre et sur les classiques belges.

Most memorable moment/stage win from professional cycling?

Paris Roubaix

Your favourite stage race or one day race? Why is this your favourite?

Paris Roubaix or Liège Bastogne Liège. Because they are two monuments of cycling, all great champions have won one of these monuments.

Paris roubaix ou liege bastogne liège ! Car c'est 2 monuments du cyclisme, tous les plus grands champions ont déjà gagné labas .

What's your current favorite music album or song ?

My favorite album is that of a French rapper: Nekfeu

Mon album préféré c'est celui d'un rappeur français : Nekfeu

Tell us something we don’t know about you?

I started cycling at the age of 8 years. In my early days, I asked my father to cycle with him on a Tuesday, the next day we were in training club, the president of the club saw me ride and asked my father if I could run on Sunday at North Championship in Steene. So I started my first race, not knowing my speed, I pedalled like a windmill, I escaped with a bunch, and it ends in a sprint and I finished second in my first race and my first championship!

« J’ai commencé le vélo à l’âge de 8 ans. Pour mes débuts, j’ai demandé à mon père de faire du vélo un mardi, le lendemain on a été à l’entrainement du club, le président m’a vu rouler et a demandé à mon père si je pouvais courir le dimanche au championnat du Nord à Steene. J’ai pu disputer ma première course, ne sachant pas me servir de mes vitesses, je pédalais comme un moulin à vent, j’étais échappé avec un coureur de Fourmis, on finit au sprint et je termine 2ème de ma première course et de mon premier championnat ! »

Hopes and plans for the future?

For next season 2017-2018 I'll be riding with the UCI Continental Sunweb-Giant Development Team. One day I would like to become a professional in the UCI World Tour.

Pour 2017-2018 je vais être dans l'equipe Continental UCI Sunweb-Giant Development. J'aimerais un jour devenir professionnel au sein d'une équipe worldtour