a conversation with...

  The Mobel Sport - Cycle Sierra Nevada Scholarship was developed as a way to sponsor young cyclists that may not have opportunity or financial capacity to avail of a cycling training camp. In this section we take 5 minutes for a chat with one of the applicants selected for the 2018 program.

max kroonen - Overijssel - the netherlands

Who are you?

My name is Max Kroonen and I am 17 years old. I live in the Netherlands.

What team do you ride for?

Next season (2018) I will ride for Willebrord Wil Vooruit.

Why did you start cycling?

I started cycling when I was 9 years old. Since I could ride a bike I would love to go cycling, but the cycling teams in my area were not that close so my parents waited till I was 9 years old.

Have you any sporting backgrounds apart from cycling?

Before I started cycling i have played football.

What type of cyclist are you? Do you compete in other disciplines, other than road cycling?

I like the classics the most because of the hard conditions and i am able to ride a good result with a good final. Road cycling is the only discipline in which I ride races.

Favourite piece of cycling equipment/kit?

My Garmin.

Your greatest achievements on a bicycle?

Winning the first stage in 'De Acht van Bladel' (U19) and several wins and podium places in Dutch Classics (U17&U19).

Your favourite professional cyclist? (past and present)

Fabian Cancellara & Edvald Boasson Hagen.

Most memorable moment/stage win from professional cycling?

Tour de France 2016 stage 9, the win of Tom Dumoulin.

Your favourite stage race and one day race?

My favourite stage race is currently 'De Acht van Bladel' because of my good result last year. My favourite one day race is 'Ronde van Gelderland because it is in my own training area.

What's your current favourite music album/song?

My favourite music is the Spotify list Hits Top 50 The Netherlands.

Tell us something we don’t know about you already and you don’t mind the general public knowing?

I can solve a Rubik's Cube within 2 minutes.

Hopes and plans for the future?

I will try hard to ride good results and becoming a professional cyclist.